Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Michael Giacchino


A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away, French composer Alexandre Desplat scored a Star Wars spin-off…wait, what? Do you know this is wrong? It is Michael Giacchino we are talking about, right? That guy who has already written music for J.J.Abrams’s “Star Trek” reboot, various Disney animation features and who was even chosen to step out of Williams’s gigantic shadow by providing the score for “Jurassic World”, the pun-guy? Never mind, here we go. Continue reading


Alexandre Desplat To Score del Toro’s “The Shape of Water”


Director Guillermo del Toro revealed in a recent interview with that composer Alexandre Desplat is writing the score for his next project called “The Shape of Water”. Continue reading

Jed Kurzel To Score “Alien: Covenant”


According to the first trailer, composer Jed Kurzel has taken over scoring duties on Ridley Scott’s upcoming Alien: Covenant. The film starring Michael Fassbender, Katherine Waterston and Billy Crudup follows the crew of the colony ship Covenant, bound for a remote planet on the far side of the galaxy, as they discover what they think is an uncharted paradise, but is actually a dark, dangerous world. Continue reading

Michael Giacchino To Score “Jurassic World” Sequel


Composer Michael Giacchino confirmed in a recent interview with The Hollywood Reporter that he will be returning to score the currently untitled Jurassic World sequel which will be directed by J.A. Bayona and is set to star Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, Rafe Spall, Toby Jones, Justice Smith; Colin Trevorrow who directed the first Jurassic World movie has written the screenplay with Derek Connolly (Safety Not Guaranteed). Continue reading

A Christmas Carol – Alan Silvestri


At least for me, Alan Silvestri’s score for the 2009 film adaption of Charles Dickens’s beloved “A Christmas Carol” is one of the best Christmas-related scores ever written in the history of film scoring: Based on Charles Dickens’s beloved story, the composer provides an unbelievably joyous, masterfully crafted music that makes up for a truly thrilling listening experience. Continue reading